The Caribbean Community Market (CARICOM) is an organization of 15 Caribbean nations established in 1973 whose main purposes are to promote economic integration and cooperation among its members, to ensure that the benefits of integration are equitably shared, and to coordinate foreign policy. Its major activities involve coordinating economic policies and development planning; devising and instituting special projects for the less-developed countries within its jurisdiction; operating as a regional single market for many of its members (CARICOM Single Market); and handling regional trade disputes. The secretariat headquarters is based in Georgetown, Guyana. Website.

Related entries